Glo - Evilution

Monday 14th March 2005
Glo - Evilution
Glo - Evilution

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £10.99

Reviewed by Brian Edgeley

Two years in the making, this is a musical denouncement of the theory of evolution by the Hampshire band. The CD opens with, for me, the best track on the album "Make It Real", written and sung by Steev Jordan, Glo's visionary; it shows the diversity of the band and also the excellent work of the production team. The song opens serenely until the guitar cuts in with its stormy, gritty rock and then you are taken on a ride of aural excitement until the harmony is cut back with the slash of the composer's sword to leave the ethereal voice of the angelic hosts (Kate Palka) ah'ing you through golden rains and the genesis of creation... Recorded in their studios in Hampshire, the boys write and produce their own style of music under producer Phil le Cheminant (Worship Him Music / Tim Light). The overall mix is pleasant on the ear and well balanced. The result is excellent fidelity! A big part of this album is the mastery of the electric guitar in the shape of Richie 'Stig' Selby; his fingers do the walking and we do the listening to tracks like "Nothing Like It", "Design" and "Sometimes"; which are three good examples of his work. Undoubtedly, "Work Of Art" is the best song lyrically; again written by Jordan, it encourages us in the knowledge that we are all divinely created and are, therefore, a walking work of art. Wordsmith Jordan writes as he sings - with clarity, and this two year assignment has shown his ability as a writer to infuse passion and music, like tea with hot water, which calms the soul. Reading the credits one sees that band members swap instruments for different songs and drummer takes the lead role as singer/songwriter. The latter is Paul Williams and this is his debut in song; "Design", "Searching", "Sometimes" and "I Want You" are all his creation and it is good to see his own evolution in ministry.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Make It Real [Listen]
2. Nothing Like It [Listen]
3. You Move Me [Listen]
4. Design [Listen]
5. Searching [Listen]
6. Lay It All Down [Listen]
7. Work Of Art [Listen]
8. Twenty Crazy Minutes [Listen]
9. Sometimes [Listen]
10. I Want You [Listen]
11. Death [Listen]
12. Evilution [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.