Jim Brady Trio - Hope Keeps Writing The Song

Published Monday 22nd October 2018
Jim Brady Trio - Hope Keeps Writing The Song
Jim Brady Trio - Hope Keeps Writing The Song

STYLE: Southern Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 173634-27585
LABEL: Daywind

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

If you know your Southern gospel, you'll know that Jim Brady is one of the genre's most successful songsmiths who has penned hits for a whole heap of SG big names. His group, with his wife Melissa and his newest member Layke Jones, have also made three excellent albums before this one. The first three cuts here show the trio's strengths such as top rate melodies with lyrics eloquently examining the warp and woof of the Christian life. Both the Melissa-led "Livin' In The Rhythm Of Grace" and the lilting "Hope Keeps Writing The Song" are high-calibre material, while the switched lead on "The Season When God Breaks Through" is particularly effective. Then, for a change of pace, the dramatic ballad of a wanderer on the road to hell, "Lost", might have a melodramatic key change not to everyone's taste, but is still a beautifully executed song. The backings throughout are crisp and functional - guitar, bass, drums and keys - underpinning the harmonies of the trio. All in all, an impressive set from an impressive group.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Livin' In The Rhythm Of Grace [Listen]
2. Hope Keeps Writing The Song [Listen]
3. The Season When God Breaks Through [Listen]
4. Lost [Listen]
5. You Gotta Have A Song [Listen]
6. Follow Me To The Cross [Listen]
7. I Got Out [Listen]
8. I See A Crimson Stream [Listen]
9. Little Things [Listen]
10. What A Beautiful Name [Listen]
11. I Know Him Better Now [Listen]
12. When It Rains [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.