Various - 7Core Sonics

Published Sunday 1st February 2015
Various - 7Core Sonics
Various - 7Core Sonics

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 153876-22580
LABEL: 7Core Music
FORMAT: Digital Only Album

Reviewed by Stephen Luff

This is a free sampler demonstrating the wealth of talent available through Britain's pioneering indie record label 7Core Music. Since this release '7Core Sonics #2' has also been released so Cross Rhythms is playing catch-up. This invigorating compilation opens with "Walls", an infectious anthem from The Remission Flow. This band proved themselves at home in Ireland reaching the top 20 of the ITunes alternative chart with their album 'The Light That Floods' but have sadly now disbanded. Their track "The Father's Love" also features. Worship man Ian Yates here offers three tracks including the outstanding "New" which stands up against the best with its driving guitar interwoven with an engaging beat. Hong Kong-based The Weathering blend great vocals with unique musical backing while the gone-but-not-forgotten The Joy Brigade (featuring Split Level's onetime frontman Adrian Thompson) give us some exciting raw rock on "Saltwater" and The Neon Ambience offer some electronic musical landscapes in a Sigur Ros/Brian Eno style. An excellent sampler from a fine label.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.