Alisa Turner - Miracle Or Not

Published Monday 16th July 2018
Alisa Turner - Miracle Or Not
Alisa Turner - Miracle Or Not

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 169504-26943
LABEL: Integrity Music 000768711026
RELEASE DATE: 2018-04-27
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

After a smattering of shorter offerings, Nashville-based Alisa Turner has released her first full length album and it's an accomplished and striking affair. Produced by Dove Award-winner Michael Farren, this is a powerful piece that draws the listener in as Turner tells of her walk through the valley and offers up encouragement that God has it all in hand no matter the circumstance. Having battled Lyme disease since childhood and suffered tragic personal loss on more than one occasion, Turner expertly channels her pain to sing about God's faithfulness and steadfastness in the likes of the opener "Lift My Eyes" and "Only My Jesus" - the latter co-written with All Sons & Daughters' Leslie Jordan who also provides harmonies on the track - with Turner's tremblingly powerful and passionate vocals breathing life into each song on the album. Elsewhere, the simply sublime "As It Is In Heaven" and the candid title track - written by producer Farren, Lou Fellingham and Mark Allan for the singer when she was going through a particularly rough patch - tackle the subject of maintaining trust in God despite seemingly unanswered prayers with wisdom, clarity and hope and will be a great help to many listeners in similar situations. The combination of Turner's uncompromisingly intense vocal delivery, Farren's equally serious backing and the undeniably tough subject matter can feel a bit heavy at times but this doesn't take away from the fact that this is a supremely moving and ultimately helpful release from an artist with something valid to say.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Product Description
Love Will Find You from Integrity Music’s exciting new signing - Alisa Turner, is a love song to her Father and from the Father to all of us.

'Though the world around us may be shaking. Though the darkness rolls in like a flood. We will fix our eyes on whats unchanging, standing on the truth of who You are.'

Hailed by CCM magazine as a voice of the hopeful fearlessly pouring out hope, Alisa Turner sings with passion and vulnerability.

Her songs, including Not Even Now, Safe and My Prayer For You, (more than 1.6 million You Tube views) capture something almost mystical, yet deeply rooted in the hard stuff and grit of the everyday. It's the lilt and innocence in her voice and the heartbreaking but hopeful truth of her story from years of battling illness to losing her infant son.

That story is woven throughout her debut album, Love Will Find You, in a tapestry of grief, hope and redemption for which there is only one response: unfettered, unfiltered worship.

Working with Dove Award winning songwriter and producer Michael Farren [Trust In You/ Come Alive (Dry Bones)], Alisa pours her experiences into eloquent, piano-driven psalms and modern laments, pointing to the God whose love and faithfulness never fails.

Giving up is not an option for Alisa who is following in her worship leader Dad’s footsteps, even though she battles chronic pain daily.

The Nashville based singer, songwriter and worship leader knows the transformational power of praise, the supernatural exchange that occurs during worship as we surrender to the one who knows us best and loves us most.

There is beauty in the brokenness and Alisa is determined to help others discover it and to walk in His love.

1. Sing (A Prelude)
2. What A Day
3. Not Even Now
4. Barricades
5. Safe
6. Only My Jesus (feat. Leslie Jordan from All Sons & Daughters)
7. Loved
8. As It Is In Heaven
9. Forever Holy
10. Love Will Find You
11. My Prayer For You
12. Psalm 13

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.