Charles Timberlake - Face Of Gold

Monday 1st September 2003
Charles Timberlake - Face Of Gold
Charles Timberlake - Face Of Gold

STYLE: Ambient/Meditational
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Independent
RRP: £11.99

Reviewed by Trevor Kirk

The piano is without doubt a noble instrument, especially if it’s played well – I am not gifted at all in that direction, so for me, albums like this are an especial delight. Charles Timberlake is based in Hampshire and has a gentle touch on the ivories; he is also a composer of some ability, all the 12 tracks on this CD are his, and they add up to over 56 minutes of excellent music, enhanced by John Daniels’ haunting orchestral arrangements. The CD cover bears a portrait of a lion, painted by Paul Matthews, and Charles says in the sleevenotes that he felt drawn to the lion theme through his love of CS Lewis’ Chronicles Of Narnia, and also through it being the traditional symbol of St Mark. Appropriately, my favourite track on first listening is “Lion Of Judah”, but the title track, a real magnum opus at over 10 minutes, has a lyrical quality that made me abandon my PC for a while and just relax and let it soak in. This is light years away from cheesy worship without words stuff; send your pennies to Charles pronto and get one of the best piano albums I’ve heard this millennium.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Hard To Say Goodbye [Listen]
2. Maybe I'll See You [Listen]
3. The Marble Edifice [Listen]
4. The Lion Of Judah [Listen]
5. The Invitation [Listen]
6. You Have Called Me [Listen]
7. Awakening [Listen]
8. The Pride [Listen]
9. Dancer In The Sky [Listen]
10. Face Of Gold [Listen]
11. Unforgotten [Listen]
12. The Everlasting Stairway [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.