Covenant Worship - Take Heart

Published Saturday 6th August 2016
Covenant Worship - Take Heart
Covenant Worship - Take Heart

RATING 5 5 5 5 5
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 160066-21709
LABEL: Integrity 0000768671023
RELEASE DATE: 2016-02-26
RRP: £13.00

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

The Covenant Church in Dallas, Texas called on gospel star Israel Houghton to produce this live album, the mega church's third though I didn't spot Israel's name on the huge list of singers printed on the sleeve. While on that subject, I understand what "lead vocals" means so I assume it's David Binion, Colin Edge or Joshua Dufrene handling leads. But the identities of the occasional ladies stepping up to the lead mic are not disclosed. And what on earth is the difference between "gang vocals" (28 names) and "live background vocals" (another 13 names)? Musically, 'Take Heart' covers no new ground although the title track is a reasonably catchy song. But for all the passionately lusty singing, loud guitars, epic synth washes and thunderous drums, the lyrics on songs like "Jesus You Alone Are Worthy", "How Awesome" and "So Good" hardly contain a single rhyme and often make the same statements of faith and devotion and references to God's all-encompassing goodness we have heard on a hundred other songs. No doubt these songs will do a reasonable job in encouraging believers in the Covenant Church axis. But though I can relate to the sleevenote's stated aim to "get the world to sing along," for that to happen I believe Covenant Worship will need better songs than these.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Product Description
Covenant Worship’s new live album, Take Heart, was recorded on October 15th and 16th at Covenant Church in Dallas, Texas. The title comes from a song on the album that talks about all creation telling of how
great our God is. That’s the heartbeat behind this project and is reflected by other tracks such as “All Creation,” “Motivation” and “How Awesome.” Covenant Worship, along with their church is dedicated to being a place where we can celebrate and share the message of God’s desire to be in relationship with us through vibrant worship and powerful messages from the Word of God.


1. Take Heart
2. All Creation
3. Motivation
4. Your Promise Stands
5. Jesus You Alone Are Worthy
6. Beautiful
7. The Battle Is Yours
8. God Is In Control
9. There Is A Name
10. How Awesome
11. How Great
12. So Good
13. You Have Won
14. Let The Whole World Sing
15. Isn’t The Name
16. How Great (reprise)

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.