David Leonard - The Wait

Published Saturday 17th August 2019
David Leonard - The Wait
David Leonard - The Wait

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 174380-27973
LABEL: Integrity Music
RELEASE DATE: 2019-03-15

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

As any keen follower of CCM will tell you, Mr Leonard has paid his dues, first as the touring keyboard player with southern rockers Needtobreathe (2009-2010) and then as one half of the acoustic worship duo All Sons & Daughters (2010-2018). This set, released in March this year, is David's solo debut and, judging from the fact that he's in the process of releasing re-recorded stripped down versions of the songs demonstrates that he's pretty happy with them, though possibly less so with some of the production here. Personally, I really like it. "Wanderer" opens the set strongly, building on a keyboard riff and ending with a full-on rock swell. Another gem is "Come As You Are", where a light percussive shuffle is driven by B3 organ. Less effective is "There's Nobody", where auto-tune and electronic drums don't seem to quite fit. The lyrical theme of the project is largely reflecting a man wrestling with what he knows to be true while living out something a bit different. And there are some outstanding songs here. "You Know Me" and "The Little That I Know" will no doubt make it to the Cross Rhythms playlist while "Share This Burden" is one of the best songs of the year. When I first heard this album I thought it warranted a rating of eight squares. I'm now convinced it's a 10 square worship project.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Wanderer [Listen]
2. By My Side [Listen]
3. Signs Of Life [Listen]
4. Know Your Heart [Listen]
5. Come As You Are (Intro) [Listen]
6. Come As You Are [Listen]
7. Share This Burden [Listen]
8. There's Nobody [Listen]
9. I Will Wait [Listen]
10. Distant God [Listen]
11. You Know Me [Listen]
12. Threads [Listen]
13. The Little That I Know [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.