El McMeen - Celtic Guitar Treasures

Published Friday 20th July 2018
El McMeen - Celtic Guitar Treasures
El McMeen - Celtic Guitar Treasures

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 169655-26763
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Paul Keeble

With very few exceptions (one being - of course - 'Burning Daylight' made 25 years ago with fellow 'Eh! Geoff Mann Band' members), I have to confess at the outset to not being a fan of instrumental albums. Live is different because you can experience the music being made in the room, but recorded, well. . . That said, don't let me put you off! El McMeen is a very skilful guitar player, and as track one got going I was reminded of Phil Keaggy's 'Wind And The Wheat'. Yes, Mr McMeen is that good. As the title suggests, these are Celtic tunes and the sole instrument is acoustic guitar. Apart from a few such as "Danny Boy", "Skye Boat Song" and "Greensleeves" the melodies were new to me but all are well played and recorded. I found 25 tracks of instrumental guitar a bit wearing, but such is Mr McMeen's extraordinary skill and the fact that there is a well-known market for instrumental Celtic music this compilation could well find a niche and as background music to chill to on a warm summer evening, this could be just the thing for you.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Carolan's Concerto [Listen]
2. When You And I Were Young, Maggie [Listen]
3. The Humors Of Ballyloughlin Jig [Listen]
4. Carolan's Dream [Listen]
5. Fanny Power [Listen]
6. The Kid On The Mountain Jig [Listen]
7. Danny Boy [Listen]
8. The Fairflower Of Northumberland [Listen]
9. Greensleeves [Listen]
10. Mo Giolla Mear [Listen]
11. Hugh O'donnell [Listen]
12. Carolan's Welcome [Listen]
13. Medley- Carolan's Receipt - Morgan Magan [Listen]
14. Jock O'hazeldean [Listen]
15. The Star Of The County Down [Listen]
16. George Brabazon, 2nd Air [Listen]
17. The South Wind [Listen]
18. Pretty Maid Milking A Cow [Listen]
19. Carolan's No. 179 [Listen]
20. Medley- Skye Boat Song - Give Me Your Hand [Listen]
21. The Castle Of Dromore (Aka October Winds) [Listen]
22. The Rights Of Man [Listen]
23. Sheebeg And Sheemore [Listen]
24. Medley- Lament For Owen Roe O'neill - Mist-Covered Mountains Of Home [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.