El McMeen - Gospel Guitar Treasures

Published Tuesday 4th December 2018
El McMeen - Gospel Guitar Treasures
El McMeen - Gospel Guitar Treasures

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 169657-26764
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Tim Holden

El has a reputation as one of the best guitarists in the world and a master at picked steel strung acoustic guitar with over 12 albums to his name. 'Gospel Guitar Treasures' mines the rich heritage of hymns and gospel music to produce 80 minutes - and 27 tracks - of lyrical and flowing picked guitar. The recordings faithfully capture the acoustic guitar with all its nuances and highlight El's talent at improvising round a tune to provide a full and enriching interpretation of songs that usually benefit from all that a human voice normally brings. From "Onward Christian Soldiers" through "Greensleeves (What Child Is This)", "Be Thou My Vision" and "O For A Thousand Tongues / Praise To The Lord" to "Just A Closer Walk With Thee / What A Friend We Have In Jesus" there will be many tracks known to all and some to just a few. The music and arrangements are beautiful and really the only weakness is a lack of variation which only a true guitar aficionado will manage to sit through the whole 80 minutes in one session.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Alleluia, Sing To Jesus (Hyfrydol) [Listen]
2. Amazing Grace [Listen]
3. Angel Band [Listen]
4. Be Still My Soul [Listen]
5. Be Thou My Vision [Listen]
6. Drifting Too Far From The Shore [Listen]
7. Fairest Lord Jesus [Listen]
8. Give Me Jesus [Listen]
9. Greensleeves (What Child Is This) [Listen]
10. In Christ There Is No East Or West - This Is My Father's World [Listen]
11. In The Garden [Listen]
12. Jacob's Ladder [Listen]
13. Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring [Listen]
14. Kingsfold (Star Of The County Down) [Listen]
15. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence [Listen]
16. Let Us Break Bread Together - Kumbaya [Listen]
17. O For A Thousand Tongues - Praise To The Lord [Listen]
18. O Zion Haste [Listen]
19. Of The Father's Love Begotten [Listen]
20. Once To Every Man And Nation - Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho [Listen]
21. Onward Christian Soldiers [Listen]
22. Our God, Our Help - Immortal, Invisible [Listen]
23. Resurrection Power [Listen]
24. Were You There- [Listen]
25. Will The Circle Be Unbroken [Listen]
26. Just A Closer Walk With Thee - What A Friend We Have In Jesus (Live Bonus Track) [Listen]
27. There Is Power In The Blood (Live Bonus Track) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by El McMeen in Sparta, NJ @ 14:12 on Dec 5 2018

Thank you.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.