Joe King - Eye Of The Storm

Wednesday 14th November 2001
Joe King - Eye Of The Storm
Joe King - Eye Of The Storm

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Got to confess I've been an admirer of Joe's songwriting for years. It's always amazed me that he isn't hugely popular in the same manner as Martyn Joseph because he has the knack for combining beautiful, moving, spiritual insights with gorgeous melodies and as a live performer he is sensitive and humorous. He's been through plenty of trials and received comfort from God and these days his ministry is bringing the comfort he has received to others. Whether ministering in local church or leading worship in a congregation, one thing is inescapable. Joe King writes exquisite songs and on this independently released album he is backed by musicians from Iona and Eden's Bridge. That doesn't mean that 'Eye Of The Storm' is a Celtic fest although "Don't Give In" has a Terl Bryant-driven groove and some nice pipes from Troy Donockley and a lyric to encourage every believer to rise above life's challenges. Elsewhere these songs of worship, healing and restoration range from the beautiful, lilting, peaceful "Resting In The Arms Of Jesus" and "It's Your Presence" through to the rousing "Rise Up" and "I Won't Bow Down". This album shows Joe in upbeat mood bringing encouragement to the Church. Listen to the album and then book him for your congregation. God is using him and it's something special.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. The Wonder [Listen]
2. Don't Give In [Listen]
3. Still, I'm Trusting [Listen]
4. Resting In The Arms Of Jesus [Listen]
5. Make Your Home In Me [Listen]
6. There Is Healing [Listen]
7. Lord Of All Creation [Listen]
8. On Calvary (Rise Up!) [Listen]
9. Follow You [Listen]
10. It's Your Presence [Listen]
11. More Of You [Listen]
12. I Won't Bow Down [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.