John James Bruce - Home

Published Saturday 26th May 2018
John James Bruce - Home
John James Bruce - Home

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 170009-26884
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by John Cheek

When this album was first released by Accrington-based singer/songwriter John James Bruce he used the name phonicscene but now he's wisely reverted to his real name. John was previously part of the Christian punk act The Irreverents and here offers a dark, gothic look at everyday life which occasionally echoes the themes of a Flannery O'Connor novel. Where much rock 'n' roll is about escapism - "Born To Run" and all that - but Mr Bruce's muse is closer to home. Here are lyrical concerns which reflect the ordinary world of slippers, tea, biscuits and visits to Chester Zoo, always within the context of faith. John's is a big voice: bizarre, surreal and anarchic, a voice reminiscent of Ian Curtis of Joy Division, of Nick Cave (of the Bad Seeds). When Lucy Lonsdale joins on backing-vocals, she reminds me of Patti Smith. The latter's outsider approach to faith is possibly an influence on several songs here. "What - if - God is smiling on us?/What - if - the joy of God is resting on us?" Bruce's bluesy, cow-punk sound is deliberately lo-fi and the listener is often treated to the chord-changes on his guitar-playing, close-up. Many songs progress along, before suddenly building to crescendo; the title-track, for example. John's guitar, bass and ukulele playing are quietly excellent. At 14 tracks, this collection is perhaps a song or two too long. But there's still plenty here to draw you in.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Introduction [Listen]
2. Cobbled Streets [Listen]
3. You Shouldn't Be There (Get You Home) [Listen]
4. Shoulders [Listen]
5. You're Beautiful [Listen]
6. Last Ones Standing [Listen]
7. Owls Vs Zombies [Listen]
8. Home [Listen]
9. Sticks & Stones [Listen]
10. I Don't Walk Alone [Listen]
11. Shadows [Listen]
12. Our Stories [Listen]
13. Not For Sale [Listen]
14. Eternal Songs [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.