Lincoln Brewster - God Of The Impossible (Deluxe Edition)

Published Wednesday 27th June 2018
Lincoln Brewster - God Of The Impossible (Deluxe Edition)
Lincoln Brewster - God Of The Impossible (Deluxe Edition)

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 170293-26945
LABEL: Integrity Music
RELEASE DATE: 2018-05-04

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Brewster has come a long, long way since his days with Sonicflood and this, the California-based worship leader's 10th solo album, shows just why he stands out from the crowd of modern worship exponents trying to get the world Church's attention. What makes a Brewster album special is, of course, his guitar work. His wizardry on the six strings is often up there with Phil Keaggy, while the big elongated guitar loops on "Deep Down (Walk Through Fire)" are delicious, as are the plaintive guitar wails on the ballad "While I Wait". The single "Here I Am" is a bold anthem made for congregational worship and on this track he shows an edge to his vocals which I haven't heard on previous releases. The production by Colby Wedgeworth (Zack Williams, Jordan Feliz) and Corbin Philips, who also produced Brewster's excellent 'Oxygen' album, is top-rate while the songs penned with members of Lincoln's Bayside worship team, Thrive, and guest writers Mitch Wong (Planetshakers) and Mia Fields (The Belonging, Hillsong) never descend into mediocrity. The deluxe edition is particularly worth getting, with three stripped down acoustic versions of the songs, plus a stunning instrumental "Relativity", demonstrating that he is probably the best guitarist working in the modern worship field. All in all, an exceptional set from a man who shows no sign of becoming tired or jaded.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Deep Down (Walk Through Fire) [Listen]
2. You Love Is Amazing [Listen]
3. Turn It Around [Listen]
4. While I Wait [Listen]
5. Loyal [Listen]
6. Amazing God [Listen]
7. Here I Am [Listen]
8. Everything [Listen]
9. Higher [Listen]
10. God Of The Impossible [Listen]
11. No One Like Our God [Listen]
12. Deep Down (Walk Through Fire) (Acoustic) [Listen]
13. Loyal (Acoustic) [Listen]
14. While I Wait (Acoustic) [Listen]
15. Relativity [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
Renowned worship leader Lincoln Brewsters tenth album, God of the Impossible, comes from a place of rediscovering what he knows to be true: Our Father holds it all, He is in complete control and nothing can separate us from His love. Songs No One Like Our God, Here I Am, Tidal Wave and others remind us that God is bigger than anything we face. We need only surrender and fall into His grace. It is a theme that echoes throughout Lincolns life... from a childhood overshadowed by abuse, to a life filled with forgiveness and a ministry that has inspired believers around the globe. Following radio favourites There Is Power and Made New, God of the Impossible offers new anthemic songs of praise and worship for the Church.

As a Senior Pastor at Bayside Church in Sacramento, California, Lincoln is immersed in teaching, leading and mentoring his community, including Baysides creative arts team and worship band, Thrive. With God of the Impossible, Lincoln partners with Bayside team members and writers including Mia Fieldes and Mitch Wong (Planetshakers) to craft songs that celebrate the God of Ephesians 3:20. He does so in a way that only Lincoln can: pairing congregational worship with the guitar mastery that has won fans from all walks of life.

1. Here I Am
2. No One Like Our God
3. God Of The Impossible
4. Everything
5. Turn It Around
6. I Can’t Escape Your Love
7. Saving Grace
8. 23
9. Amazing God
10. Higher
11. Yours Is The Name

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

Press Forward, Now!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Courts of Praise
Get close to God, be extravagant in declaring your love for Him in our Prayer Room