Natasha Bedingfield - Unwritten

Wednesday 1st December 2004
Natasha Bedingfield - Unwritten
Natasha Bedingfield - Unwritten

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 10784-10186
LABEL: Phonogenic 82876637022
RELEASE DATE: 2004-09-06
RRP: £14.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

With so much pop little more than empty anthems the latest crop of pretty ones can mime to on TOTP, Natasha Bedingfield is something very different. Those years of dues-paying, singing R&B gospel with brother Daniel in The DNA Algorithm have clearly born fruit for the 22 year old singer. For 'Unwritten' is a delightful, and at times quite brilliant, debut which though not quite as defiantly eclectic as Daniel's 'Gotta Get Thru This' still takes in quirky R&B, wistfully lilting pop and even and even a rock-tinged track that echoes the recent work of Pink. With it already producing two hits ("These Words" and "Single") I suspect there are more to come from this yet. If you're looking for a funky hook catch "Drop Me In The Middle" (which features a rap from Bizarre of D-12) while the bitter-sweet sensations of precariously moving towards romance are beautifully expressed in "I Bruise Easily". And Natasha's faith? Try the bonus track "Peace Of Me" which surely is addressed to the lover of her soul. The chorus goes "Oh you found the peace of me/It was missing, it was broken/You've put it back together/Oh, you've found the whole of me/I was empty, now I'm better/'Cos you pieced me back together". A beautiful song, beautifully sung.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. These Words
2. Single
3. I'm A Bomb [Listen]
4. Unwritten [Listen]
5. I Bruise Easily
6. If You're Gonna
7. Silent Movie
8. We're All Mad
9. Frogs & Princes [Listen]
10. Drop Me In The Middle [Listen]
11. Wild Horses
12. Size Matters
13. Peace of Me

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.