Nathan Sheridan - Broken With You

Published Sunday 27th January 2019
Nathan Sheridan - Broken With You
Nathan Sheridan - Broken With You

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 173187-27344
LABEL: Burtonwood

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

This album from Nashville-based singer/songwriter Nathan Sheridan has all the right ingredients to get his Burtonwood Records tenure off to a promising start with 11 quality tracks that tell of the man's love for God through thick and thin. An artist with a powerful backstory of childhood hardship and tragedy, Sheridan is a vocalist very much in the Jonny Lang mould with performances seasoned with grit and passion and, thanks to a radio friendly musical backdrop overseen by Seventh Day Slumber's Jeremy Holderfield, each song holds its own. Proceedings kick off with the blues-tinged stomper "Starts With You And Me" before continuing down a similar path with the punchy "Nothing But You" which points to God in a way that could easily sneak into mainstream playlists without suspicion. Elsewhere, more straightforward modern worship songs like "I'm Amazed" and "His Name Is Jesus" will tend more to the CCM market whilst the biblical "Alone In The Garden" shows what Sheridan can do with just an acoustic guitar and a keen understanding of what his Saviour must have gone through near the time of his crucifixion. Although there's not really anything here that's startlingly unique musically or thematically, this is nonetheless an enjoyable and competent offering from an artist to watch out for.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Starts With You And Me [Listen]
2. Nothing But You [Listen]
3. Don't Get It [Listen]
4. Who You'll Always Be [Listen]
5. Minute By Minute [Listen]
6. Broken With You [Listen]
7. Loves Like That [Listen]
8. I'm Amazed [Listen]
9. Alone In The Garden [Listen]
10. His Name Is Jesus [Listen]
11. Again [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.