Out Of Eden - Love, Peace & Happiness

Monday 1st March 2004
Out Of Eden - Love, Peace & Happiness
Out Of Eden - Love, Peace & Happiness

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Gotee GTD72898R
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Considering the Kimmey sisters have released only four albums in their 10 years of recording the quality has been exemplary. Now the trio return with a dazzling display of cutting edge R&B gospel. "I Know" with tinkling piano, a hip-hop like rhythm and a wistful mid tempo groove of ethereal harmonies, or "Soldiers", with its surreal build up of off kilter harmonies and unexpected musical borrows, or "Could've Been Me" with its slinky groove and inventive samples, all hit home. But such is the quality of the sweet and soulful singing and the inventive production from Todd Collins (TobyMac, John Reuben), Kene Bell (Grits, TobyMac) and Liquid Beats (Verbs) that more delights are bound to be discovered on this artfully crafted set in the coming months. For my money the greatest girl group in modern gospel deliver an album that could cross over to mainstream R&B with the right promotion.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Make Way [Listen]
2. Just The Way [Listen]
3. Love, Peace & Happiness [Listen]
4. Soldiers [Listen]
5. I Know [Listen]
6. It's You [Listen]
7. Shoulda' Listened [Listen]
8. Could've Been Me [Listen]
9. Drama Free [Listen]
10. Tennessee Girls Interlude [Listen]
11. Secret [Listen]
12. Sincerely [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.