Susan Ashton - Walk On

Thursday 1st December 1994
Susan Ashton - Walk On
Susan Ashton - Walk On

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Sparrow 8311202
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

If you look back through past reviews and articles during Ms Ashton's steady rise to CCM ascendancy you'll not find one particular phrase as journos struggled to encapsulate Susan's particular stylistic approach. No one ever mentioned country music. 'Acoustic-oriented pop' or some other cumbersome description always seemed a better way of pigeon-holing Susan's poignant, gentle music presented so affectingly on 'Wakened By The Wind', 'Angels Of Mercy' and 'Susan Ashton' than a country music tag. But country music has gone through some hefty changes over the last few years and now means little more than music that country music radio stations deem to play. Now the country jocks have begun to play Susan, thanks to Susan's tour with Garth Brooks, and this compilation has been put together to introduce our pop-gospel favourite to a secular country audience. Very nice it is too. There's at least one classic, the breathtaking "Down On My Knees" while the title track culled from the Ashton, Becker, Dente album is a delight too with fine guitar work from Messrs McPherson and Kirkpatrick. Don't worry about the classification, there's great music here.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Walk On [Listen]
2. Here In My Heart [Listen]
3. Waiting For Your Love To Come Down [Listen]
4. Song Of Reconciliation [Listen]
5. Land Of Nod [Listen]
6. Agree To Disagree [Listen]
7. Down On My Knees [Listen]
8. Beyond Justice To Mercy [Listen]
9. Started As A Whisper [Listen]
10. There Is A Line [Listen]
11. When Are You Coming Back [Listen]
12. Better Angels Of Our NatureBend [Listen]
13. Benediction [Listen]
14. Alice In Wonderland [Listen]
15. Remember Not (Acoustic Version) [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.