Tom Smith - Everyday

Published Thursday 15th November 2018
Tom Smith - Everyday
Tom Smith - Everyday

RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 171612-27367
LABEL: Integrity Music 0000768716724
RELEASE DATE: 2018-07-27
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

London-based worship leader and songwriter Tom Smith has come to prominence through the Soul Survivor ranks and this six-track EP follows on the back of his well-received appearance at the most recent summer conferences hosted by the longstanding Christian youth movement. To give his self-penned songs a necessary shine, Smith has wisely employed the production services of Jimmy James (Worship Central, Guvna B) and fellow worship artist Ben Cantelon to offer up a polished set of numbers that seek to glorify God at every turn. Proceedings kick off with the dance-tinged pop of "You In My Life" to communicate that nothing is impossible with God before launching into full-on modern worship mode with the thumping "1000 Years". As is the way of most contemporary worship releases, Smith soon slows things down with the contemplative title track and the self-explanatory "Jesus I Love You" before the acoustic "Obey" follows suit. Smith has one of those classic worship voices that can switch between power and calm with ease and whilst he may sound like countless other worship artists out there at the moment in a vocal and stylistic sense, there is enough here to suggest that he has a bright future ahead of him should he find a unique selling point to help him stand out.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Product Description
Soul Survivor has been the training ground for several significant worship leaders including Matt Redman, Tim Hughes & Beth Croft.
The latest of these is Tom Smith, who was featured on last year’s Soul Survivor album The Promise, as well as the two previous year's releases: Never Gonna Stop & Love Takes Over.
This summer sees the release of Tom’s first EP for Integrity Music ‘ Everyday’. This exciting new recording includes co-writes with Phil Wickham, Tim Hughes & Nick Herbert and is produced by Jimmy James ( Worship Central, Guvna B) and mixed by Sam Gibson (Young & Free, Martin Smith).

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.