Ashley Cleveland - One More Song

Published Saturday 19th January 2019
Ashley Cleveland - One More Song
Ashley Cleveland - One More Song

STYLE: Roots/Acoustic
RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 169355-27292
LABEL: 204

Reviewed by Mike Rimmer

Like many blues singers, Ashley Cleveland seems to get better the older she gets and with every release. Blessed with one of the greatest voices in Christian music and with a vocal passion that seems to communicate with a conviction which is able to stir the soul of the listener, her latest 'One More Song' is an object lesson in how to create the perfect marriage between blues, spirituality and tinges of rock. The album is once again produced by her husband Kenny Greenburg whose tasty guitar playing is all over the record. It features a mixture of reworkings of traditional songs and Cleveland's self-penned insights. Particular highlights for me include the opening autobiographical blues stomper "Way Out Of Nowhere" telling the story of how she was captured by the rock'n'roll lifestyle and later escaped alcoholism through God's help. The traditional "Down By The Riverside" has a touch of New Orleans in the brass band that makes an appearance. "Ezekiel 2" is a solo reworking of the song she has previously recorded as a duet with co-writer Phil Keaggy. No Phil playing on this one but her hubby more than takes care of business. There are other traditional songs on here like the medley of "Take Me To The Water" and "Cool Down By The Banks Of Jordan" once again showing how great Ashley is at interpreting songs. The title cut is written by Cleveland and tells a story about her mother and her older sister Betsy. "Walk In Jerusalem" is a walking blues which pounds along in an infectious fashion with an amazing vocal and great guitar work from Greenburg. From start to finish, this is a fine blues-based album packed with passion and energy.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Way Out Of No Way [Listen]
2. Down By The Riverside [Listen]
3. Crooked Heart [Listen]
4. Lily Grown Wild [Listen]
5. Take Me To The Water [Listen]
6. Cool Down By The Banks Of Jordan [Listen]
7. Halfway Down [Listen]
8. To Be Good [Listen]
9. Ezekiel 2 [Listen]
10. One More Song [Listen]
11. Walk In Jerusalem [Listen]
12. Born To Preach The Gospel [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.