Carly Paoli - Live At Cadogan Hall

Published Sunday 16th September 2018
Carly Paoli - Live At Cadogan Hall
Carly Paoli - Live At Cadogan Hall

STYLE: Classical
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 172774-27345
LABEL: Abia Ltd

Reviewed by Steven Whitehead

While 'Live At Cadogan Hall' is billed as a new album from Classic Brit nominee Carly Paoli one needs to be aware that some of the content is live recordings of material from her 2017 debut 'Singing My Dreams' and while no doubt Carly fans will be happy to hear her again the less committed may think that one version is sufficient. The live takes include Jason Robert Brown's "Music of Heaven", "Still Dream" by Desplat and Lindsay-Abaire, "Where Or When" from Rodgers and Hart, and "Se Tu Fossi", with additional lyrics by Miss Paoli. The new material takes us across the musical spectrum from Dvorák's "Song To The Moon" from 'Rusalka', and "Nella Fantasia" along with two medleys, "La Ville de L'Amour" which is a musical excursion to Paris and "True Love's Kiss", a selection of songs from Disney movies. The concert closes with a splendid version of "Over The Rainbow" and a bonus new studio recording "Liberty". This is written by Grammy winning songwriter Walter Afanasieff, and features The London Symphony Orchestra and The Invictus Games Choir with proceeds from the song going to Help for Heroes. Astute readers will notice from the recital programme that we are sailing close to the edge of the classical genre, as is often the case with so-called classical crossover. Miss Paoli has talent and has received a classical training and it is, of course, entirely her own affair as to how she uses this talent. She has performed at some of the world's great venues including Carnegie Hall and The Forum in Rome and in 2018 she headlined her debut British show at London's Cadogan Hall, backed by the 65-piece Abiah Orchestra, conducted by Grammy award winner Steven Mercurio along with guests including renowned flautist Andrea Griminelli, and the winners of the BBC's Songs of Praise Choir of the Year 2016, Tring Park 16. The short review is to say that you are more likely to hear this on Classic FM than Radio Three, which is an observation not a criticism, and if you enjoy songs from the shows alongside some of the lighter classical repertoire you will enjoy this recording.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Music Of Heaven [Listen]
2. Still Dream [Listen]
3. Se Tu Fossi [Listen]
4. Te Vurria [Listen]
5. La Ville De I Amour [Listen]
6. Mesicku Na Nebi HIubokem [Listen]
7. Someone Like You [Listen]
8. True Love's Kiss [Listen]
9. Nella Fantasia [Listen]
10. Where Or When [Listen]
11. Over The Rainbow [Listen]
12. Liberty [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.