Celtic - Rivers Of Praise

Monday 1st September 2003
Celtic - Rivers Of Praise
Celtic - Rivers Of Praise

STYLE: Celtic
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Alliance 1902742
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Brian Edgeley

Produced by Dave Bankhead (Heartbeat) at his Moonshine Studios in Malmsbury, Wiltshire, ‘Rivers of Praise’ brings together 15 tracks, eight of which are instrumentals. The choice of the songs is commendable from the haunting version of Robin Mark’s “Not By Might”, played so eloquently by flautist Charles Wilson and Gary Blakeley on fiddle, to the final track, another instrumental of Graham Kendrick’s “Turn Our Hearts”. This final piece is crafted par excellence with a superb blend of harp (Rachel Bartells) and flute, bringing to mind a warm summer’s day with dandelion heads dancing on the breeze but beware - there’s a hint of rain in the distance! Iona’s Joanne Hogg sings a fabulous version of David Ruis’ “Song Of Celebration”. Again good use of acoustic instruments blended with nice percussion and Nick Ruddle’s timbrel deserves top marks! Add to this combination exceptional backing vocals and you have a track that stands head and shoulder above the rest. Top marks! It is good to hear other lead vocals by V*enna’s Lucy Britten and Sarah Lacy (Eden’s Bridge), but I was personally disappointed by Ian McMaster’s vocals as they seemed too breathy and didn’t meld well with other aforementioned vocalists. However, that said, this instils peace, restores the mind and is easy upon the ear.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Not By Might [Listen]
2. We Will Dance [Listen]
3. How Long [Listen]
4. See Your Saviour Comes [Listen]
5. Revealer Of Mysteries [Listen]
6. I Cannot Tell [Listen]
7. Before The Throne Of God Above [Listen]
8. Peace Be To These Streets [Listen]
9. Heaven Shall Not Wait [Listen]
10. "My Jesus, I Love Thee" [Listen]
11. I'm Coming Up The Mountain [Listen]
12. Healing Rover [Listen]
13. Lion Of Judah [Listen]
14. "Jesus, All For Jesus" [Listen]
15. Turn Our Hearts [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Reader Comments

Posted by sarah in india @ 04:54 on Jul 6 2006

amazing music. wish I could get all their CDs!!

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.