Christian City Church, Oxford Falls - Lift

Saturday 1st May 2004
Christian City Church, Oxford Falls - Lift
Christian City Church, Oxford Falls - Lift

RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
LABEL: Authentic 7800321
RELEASE DATE: 2004-01-23
RRP: £4.99

Reviewed by Chris Sharp

Well, I can say beyond a shadow of a doubt that the latest offering from Christian City Church Oxford Falls lives up to its title - what a rousing start! Just goes to show that not everything good coming out of Australia is Hillsongs! After the prelude and foot-tappingly-catchy “Dance”, the pop gives way to the funkiness of “For You Alone”. Despite other variations in musical styles for me this stands just know you're on to a good thing when a track starts with a bass line like that! Although a little performance-orientated the vast choir and multitude of instrumentalists are used to great effect being brought together by worship leaders Chris O’Brien, Linda Muller, Jacky Jensen Brigstock and Joe Pringle - Chris having written the majority of the songs. 'Lift' follows on from the previous releases 'Prophesy' and 'Higher' (see CR 67/71). You may expect these to be difficult standard bearers to match up to, however the production, arrangements and musicianship still add up to a very polished end product. Including 'Prophesy' as the second CD of this two disc set means you will definitely get your money’s worth. CD-ROM content provides you with all the 'Lift' lyrics, but I was disappointed to find the full musical arrangement for only one song (“He Lives In Me”) included.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Lift Prelude [Listen]
2. Dance [Listen]
3. For You Alone [Listen]
4. Holy [Listen]
5. Bless The Lord [Listen]
6. Faithful [Listen]
7. He Lives In Me [Listen]
8. Amazes Me [Listen]
9. Living With You [Listen]
10. Love To Praise [Listen]
11. Wonders Of Love [Listen]
12. You're My God [Listen]
13. Blessing And Honour [Listen]
14. Sing About You [Listen]
15. Lift [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.