Debra Killings - Surrender

Wednesday 1st September 2004
Debra Killings - Surrender
Debra Killings - Surrender

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Verity 012414322821
RELEASE DATE: 2003-08-08
RRP: £14.99

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

In Britain's black majority churches this, the debut gospel release by an American singer/songwriter who has recorded with such mainstream giants as Madonna, George Clinton, Santana and Toni Braxton, is considered a must-have item. Rightly so. The first couple of songs are wonderful, "Message In The Music" sounding convincingly autobiographical (it isn't - it was written by famed producer Dallas Austin and Kandi Burruss) - Debra soulfully intoning the story of a lost sheep returning to the Church fold over a socking groove while a jazzily funky "Love" is also a delight. Gradually though, the effect dissipates a tad with some of the songs too stylised for comfort and "Jesus" sounding uncannily like something Andrae Crouch might pen. But Debra has a great voice and the mighty Fred Hammond gives some soul power to the Caribbean-tinged "Because Of Your Love". Having Debra pose for the photo shoot with guitar was a mistake as most of the guitars heard on 'Surrender' are played by husband Jimmy while the "Interlude" bits of a squeaky voiced child are grating rather than cute or instructional. But the best cuts here herald a major new talent.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Message In The Music [Listen]
2. Love [Listen]
3. Surrender [Listen]
4. The Giving Child (Interlude) [Listen]
5. Oh My God [Listen]
6. Jesus [Listen]
7. The Wanting Child (Interlude)
8. Even When [Listen]
9. Do Right [Listen]
10. The Pleading Child (Interlude)
11. Come On [Listen]
12. Because Of Your Love [Listen]
13. The Loving Child (Interlude)
14. Ain't Nobody [Listen]
15. A Change [Listen]
16. Oh I [Listen]
17. Without Him [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
Debra Killings is a talented musician (she plays bass and keyboards) and has toured with some of the biggest names in urban music. As an accomplished session singer, she has performed powerful background vocals on over 30 CDs. All the songs on this album have been penned by Debra and include Without Him, Surrender and Oh, My God.

Reader Comments

Posted by Donald in Ohio @ 20:03 on Sep 10 2011

Excelllent CD, very inspiring, great vocals, lyrics and music. Debras' cover photo is her with a 4 string acoustic bass guitar, she also plays 6 string electric bass, her brother Jimmy Killings plays 6 string acoustic and electric guitar on the CD.

The opinions expressed in the Reader Comments are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms.

Add your comment

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.