Jason Gray - Where The Light Gets In

Published Tuesday 10th January 2017
Jason Gray - Where The Light Gets In
Jason Gray - Where The Light Gets In

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 160919-23824
LABEL: Centricity 0829619133523
RELEASE DATE: 2016-08-19
RRP: £9.99

Reviewed by Ian Homer

This is the Minneapolis-based singer/songwriter's sixth album under the name Gray, following on from 2014's 'Love Will Have The Final Word'. The first song "Learning" is a catchy pop-rock tune that I'm sure will get some radio airplay. "I know I can take it every day/If there's a way you can make it I won't be afraid" go the gang vocals on the refrain. It works well as an uplifting piece about confronting fear knowing God has our backs. "Sparrows" takes its inspiration from Matthew 10 where Jesus says to the disciples, "Are not two sparrows sold for a penny?" and again calls us to not be afraid and deals with our persistent tendency to worry since the Father holds everything in its place. "Stolen" is perhaps the weakest offering on the album - it's a tad too saccharin, but it's followed by "More Yours" which tackles many believers' tendency to try and take back control of their lives. The ambient, spacious intro and the verses are punctuated by a particularly rhythmic rock chorus. Another standout is "Death Without A Funeral", a clever allegory of love lost; a fine acoustic rendition featuring a bass drum underpinning reminiscent of a heartbeat and Jason's deft guitar playing augmented by some timely strings. All in all this is a balanced album from an artist who is maturing in his work.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Product Description
Jason Gray’s new album, Where the Light Gets In, is a stirring weave of sorrow, light, hope, and even of
celebration. The sonic cohesiveness of the thirteen-song project is nonetheless remarkable, considering the tracks were built simultaneously by nine different producers (Jason Ingram, Ben Glover, & others) with one or two songs apiece. Jason’s new radio single, “Sparrows”, went for early adds on K-Love, Sirius XM, among others with an official add date of 4/1 and is climbing the NCA charts.


1. Learning
2. Sparrows
3. I Will Rise Again
4. Stolen
5. Resurrection
6. More Yours
7. Death Without A Funeral
8. The Wound Is Where The Light Gets In
9. Where We Go From Here
10. Learning To Be Found
11. Glow In The Dark
12. Celebrate
13. Thank You For Everything

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

A Step Change...
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Courts of Praise
Get close to God, be extravagant in declaring your love for Him in our Prayer Room