Olivewood Bridge - Two Tablets

Published Tuesday 1st March 2005
Olivewood Bridge - Two Tablets
Olivewood Bridge - Two Tablets

RATING 4 4 4 4
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 11236-10155
LABEL: Independent

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

Olivewood Bridge are Canadian threesome Tom Vermeulen (vocals), Shaun Morse (guitar, bass) and Clint Foley (drums). With a handful of other musos they went into the studio with Vermeulen's worship songs and this, the result, was released in 2003. For one track, the opening "No Gods Before You", this reviewer was impressed with the sparse arrangement and a nicely funky bass line perfect for the straight forward declaration of worship. But then the problems start. "No Other Idols" is a poor song and "Do Not Take The Lord's Name In Vain" shows some wobbles in the lead vocal. Throughout, the sound is a welcome organic one of real musicians playing real instruments, better songwriting is clearly needed.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.