The Songs Of... - The Songs Of Noel Richards

Saturday 1st May 2004
The Songs Of... - The Songs Of Noel Richards
The Songs Of... - The Songs Of Noel Richards

RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Kingsway KMCD2522
RELEASE DATE: 2004-01-23
RRP: £16.99

Reviewed by Lins Honeyman

This two CD presentation of the worship leader’s 25 finest songs does not feature the man himself but what is offered here is an extremely competent run-through of songs most of us will be familiar with. All the standards are here (“To Be In Your Presence”, “There Is Power In The Name Of Jesus” and “All Heaven Declares” plus many more) and all songs are accompanied by a separate CD-Rom containing acetates, guitar chords and scores which will aid worship groups no end. The musicianship here is of a high standard and vocalists Lisa Cochran, Terry White, Mark Ivy and Marabeth Jordan (yes, the one-time First Call lady) give this collection a welcome diversity in style. Whilst most of the tracks are straight forward demonstrations, songs such as “My Lips Shall Praise You” and the disco-tinged “Nothing Shall Separate Us” stand out purely because they have been given a makeover (the former being transformed into a delicious shuffle complete with bubbling Hammond) and other songs may well have benefited from similar treatment. This does not take away from the fact that these songs have been handled with care by the musicians involved and that Richards is still one of our most prolific, anointed and respected songwriters.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. To Be In Your Presence [Listen]
2. There Is Power In The Name Of Jesus [Listen]
3. Behold The Lord [Listen]
4. Welcome King Of Kings [Listen]
5. All Heaven Declares [Listen]
6. He Has Risen [Listen]
7. I Dont Know Why [Listen]
8. Great Is The Darkness [Listen]
9. You Laid Aside Your Majesty [Listen]
10. My Lips Shall Praise You [Listen]
11. I Will Seek Your Face O Lord [Listen]
12. Filled With Compassion [Listen]
13. The World Is Looking For A Hero [Listen]
14. Love Songs From Heaven [Listen]
15. Overwhelmed By Love [Listen]
16. Our Confidence Is In The Lord [Listen]
17. You Are My Passion [Listen]
18. Jesus Christ [Listen]
19. When We Turn Our Hearts To Heaven [Listen]
20. Nothing Shall Separate Us [Listen]
21. If I Seek You [Listen]
22. When I Sing My Praise [Listen]
23. Take Me To Your Sacred Place [Listen]
24. By Your Side [Listen]
25. Lord And Father King Forever [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.