Andy Chrisman - One

Published Saturday 18th May 2024
Andy Chrisman - One
Andy Chrisman - One

RATING 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10 10
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 173359-27368
LABEL: Shelter

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

I never heard this album when it was released in the US in 2004 but I'm glad I've now finally got to hear it. Andy is a top rate songwriter - he has co-write credits with Jason Ingram, Matthew West, Chris Rodriguez, Scott Krippayne and others - his voice is strong and 'One' was produced or mixed by well-known CCM figures like Bill Baumgart, Greg Bieck, David Zaffro and the ubiquitous others. Maybe the variety of producers and different studios and accompanists stops 'One' from having the creative focus a single person in the control room might have brought it. But there's no denying the quality of songs, performance and pop rock arrangements here. Lyrics too are strong - "I'm no Shakespeare, I'm no Henry Thomas/Can't write a song like McCartney or Billy Joel/That won't keep me from telling you/How I'm feeling now" on "What's Left To Say" or "I live among the scoffers and the questioning/How can you trust a God you have never seen?/I still believe, I still believe" on "Believe". The best cut of all is the haunting "Believe" with a pumping bass groove and an expressive, near falsetto vocal from Andy. But wherever you look and listen, this is an album shining with Nashville CCM attention to detail. One final thing, as this reviewer possesses a long beard I was particularly struck by Andy's sleeve pics which show him not only to be a handsome young man but to possess the smallest beard I've ever seen.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Believe [Listen]
2. Complete [Listen]
3. Atmosphere [Listen]
4. Debt Of Gratitude [Listen]
5. Everything [Listen]
6. Adore You [Listen]
7. What's Left To Say [Listen]
8. The Word Of God [Listen]
9. The One [Listen]
10. King Above All [Listen]
11. Love Remains [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.