Inspiration Worship - Powerful

Published Tuesday 23rd October 2018
Inspiration Worship - Powerful
Inspiration Worship - Powerful

STYLE: MOR / Soft Pop
RATING 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9 9
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 172507-27284
LABEL: Radiate Music

Reviewed by Tony Cummings

You've read the story . . . now hear the album. If you've yet to catch up on the amazingly uplifting tale, Linda Doane, who with her husband Jim constitute Inspiration Worship, heavily covered in America's Christian media (and Cross Rhythms), she is a courageous lady recovering from terminal cancer who rose from her sickbed to take a nine-hour drive to Tennessee, met hit making CCM producer Ian Eskelin, and begin working on recordings of her self-composed worship and testimony songs. And if that makes it sound like 'Powerful' is going to be crammed full of Psalm-like laments or at least imbued with sad toned reflections on mortality, you'll be amazed when you hear this album. Linda's songs convey so much joy and faith, not just in God's healing power, but in his living kindness. There are songs of sad poignancy here; "I Can't Fix You" is a song aimed at the Doanes' teenage daughter who has her own health struggles, in her case with anorexia. But, thanks in good part to producer Eskelin, the mood here is largely of adoration and celebration, and on the techno pop opener, a natural for Christian radio, Linda's voice is amazingly youthful. In fact, she sounds like a teenager herself. It's particularly ironic that the first snatch of lyric which cut through to this less than attentive reviewer is probably top of the list of Christian songwriters' Clich├ęs To Avoid, and wasn't even sung by Linda. On the song "The Blood", the lyrics "Praise the name of Jesus" bites through. But considering the deeply Christ-centric nature of 'Powerful' that's particularly appropriate.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Take Me [Listen]
2. One God [Listen]
3. A Scepter And Crown [Listen]
4. Roar [Listen]
5. I Can't Fix You [Listen]
6. Powerful Lie [Listen]
7. The Blood [Listen]
8. All I Am [Listen]
9. Never Let Me Go [Listen]
10. Heaven Reigns [Listen]
11. Rise Up [Listen]
12. You Never Change [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.