Trent - You Make All Things New

Published Wednesday 24th December 2014
Trent - You Make All Things New
Trent - You Make All Things New

RATING 7 7 7 7 7 7 7
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 152232-22671
LABEL: Vineyard Records UK VRUKCD32
RELEASE DATE: 2014-10-20
RRP: £12.99

Reviewed by Chris Webb

After rocking Spring Harvest in 2011 to provide a live CD the boys from Nottingham have stepped back into the studio to let Darren Clarke produce this studio album of 12 new songs. As usual, Nigel Briggs fronts the four-piece from Nottingham's Trent Vineyard and the years the band have worked together clearly show as solid bass, drums and keyboard provide substantial backing to Nigel's voice and his striking lead guitar. "You Make All Things New" has a both the strength and delicate beauty of a spider's web in the interplay of acoustic guitar, flowing keyboard and gently splashing cymbal as God is thanked that one day he will renew his creation. "Honey" leads off with a fuzzed lead guitar bouncing off the bass and drums, building alongside the vocals, as suddenly a banjo is added to the mix before the interesting and unexpected development of the song slipping sideways into a much more straightforward chorus of ("I will sing a new song"). "I Give You My Heart" reflects our need to respond to God and his wonderful saving provision as the song gently but effectively flows around a trilling keyboard echoing the vocal line. Musically there is a touch of both Yfriday and Travis in Trent's approach with most tracks being mid tempo. There is roundness about their sound that demonstrates the band's comfort with each other and this genre, but there also seems to be a desire to ensure that they don't become stale or forced to remain with one style.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Product Description
All Things New is the long awaited new studio album from New Wine favourites Trent. Produced by Darren Clarke writer of I Love Your Presence & Your Love Reaches Me. Featuring 12 brand new songs from the band led by Nigel Briggs from Trent Vineyard, Nottingham.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.