Bill & Gloria Gaither and Their Homecoming Friends - Bill Gaither's Best Of Homecoming 2002

Thursday 1st January 2004
Bill & Gloria Gaither and Their Homecoming Friends - Bill Gaither's Best Of Homecoming 2002
Bill & Gloria Gaither and Their Homecoming Friends - Bill Gaither's Best Of Homecoming 2002

STYLE: Southern Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
LABEL: Spring House SHD2410
RRP: £7.99

Reviewed by Dave Brassington

This is a really bright and breezy album from the very first track, a 'folksy' "This Land Is Your Land", and carries on in a joyful manner with a whole host of contemporary singers who veer in and out of Southern gospel and acoustic country. Apart from “The Star Spangled Banner” which I could have done without, there is nothing here that will not uplift you or get your feet tapping. Even such old chestnuts as "Precious Lord, Take My Hand" and "I'll Fly Away" get a bright treatment, and there are plenty of new songs as well. I particularly liked the rousing "Still Feelin' Fine" by The Booth Brothers and "He Understands My Tears" by The Issacs. A very enjoyable album.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. This Land Is Your Land Ftg Terry Blackwood, Sue Dodge, Ernie Haase, The Talley Trio [Listen]
2. A Few Good Men Ftg Woody Wright, Terry Blackwood, Sherman Andrus, Reggie Smith, Wesley Pritchard, Guy Penrod [Listen]
3. God Be With You Ftg Jessy Dixion [Listen]
4. Joy In My Heart Ftg Karen Peck & New River, Joy Gardner [Listen]
5. Stand By Me Ftg The Florida Boys [Listen]
6. Still Feelin' Fine Ftg The Booth Brothers [Listen]
7. All Rise Ftg Babbie Mason [Listen]
8. When I Survey The Wondrous Cross Ftg Terry Blackwood, Mel Tunney, Tanya Goodman, Sykes, Larry Ford, David Phelps [Listen]
9. I Thank You, Lord Ftg Alicia Williamson, Lillie Knauls, Joy Gardner [Listen]
10. Precious Lord, Take My Hand Ftg Jeff Easter On Harmonica, Sherman Andrus [Listen]
11. I'll Fly Away Ftg Kim Hopper, David Phelps [Listen]
12. The Star-Spangled Banner Ftg The Isaacs [Listen]
13. He Understands My Tears Ftg The Isaacs [Listen]
14. It Won't Rain Always Ftg Janet Paschal, Charlotte Ritchie, David Phelps [Listen]
15. Love In Any Language Ftg Sandi Patty, Jessy Dixion [Listen]
16. When The Saints Go Marching In Ftg Jake Hess, Terry Blackwood [Listen]
17. I Love The Lord Ftg Alicia Williamson [Listen]
18. So High Ftg The Martins [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
Handpicked by Bill Gaither himself, this collection features 18 of Bill's favourite songs from last year's Homecoming series sung by some of the finest voices in Gospel music - Russ Taff, David Phelps, The Martins, Babbie Mason and Jessy Dixon - a superb collection. Includes: 'When I survey, Stand by Me, When the saints'.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Dedication Room
Live on the edge and shout what you believe in our Dedication Room