Bill & Gloria Gaither - Joy In My Heart

Published Wednesday 30th June 2010
Bill & Gloria Gaither - Joy In My Heart
Bill & Gloria Gaither - Joy In My Heart

STYLE: Southern Gospel
RATING 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8
OUR PRODUCT CODE: 82789-15961
LABEL: Gaither Music Group SHD2727
RELEASE DATE: 2009-10-30
RRP: £7.99

Reviewed by Doug Holland

Compiled from material recorded live over a span of two days at the legendary Grand Ole Opry in Nashville, this 21-track collection features 75 minutes of traditional and contemporary southern gospel tunes performed by a cast of nearly 250 singers and players, including (in addition to the Gaithers and the Homecoming Band) the Gatlin Brothers, Cherry Holmes, and Jimmy Dean, the latter of whom lends his voice to his semi-spoken country oldie "Big Bad John". This is everything you would expect from a gig and recording that has Bill Gaither at the helm - big, brash, Jesus-centred, totally committed, unapologetic and very tight and well produced. The pace is virtually relentless from first to last, the variety of topics tackled is huge and it is unlikely to be possible for anybody to listen to this recording and not be uplifted. If you have enjoyed Gaither's material in the past then there is no reason why you will not love this.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. Joy In My Heart [Listen]
2. Bread Upon The Water [Listen]
3. Lord, Lead Me On [Listen]
4. Living By Faith [Listen]
5. The Real Thing [Listen]
6. Long As I've Got King Jesus [Listen]
7. Jesus Is The Best Thing [Listen]
8. 'Til The Storm Passes By [Listen]
9. Swingin' & Marchin' [Listen]
10. I Need Your Light [Listen]
11. Angel Band [Listen]
12. Someday [Listen]
13. Big Bad John [Listen]
14. Sunday Meetin' Time [Listen]
15. His Eye Is On The Sparrow [Listen]
16. Didn't It Rain [Listen]
17. Thank God I Am Free [Listen]
18. Now I Have Everything [Listen]
19. Without Him [Listen]
20. Alleluia [Listen]
21. If That Isn't Love [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
The famous Grand Ole Opry serves as the backdrop for this Homecoming celebration honoring gospel musicís rich history and, most importantly, the very Creator of music. Joy In My Heart, is a fun-filled musical celebration featuring gospel classics sung by 250 of gospel musicís finest voices.

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

It's All About Lives
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room