Bill & Gloria Gaither & Their Homecoming Friends - Bill Gaither Presents A Gospel Bluegrass Homecoming Vol 2

Saturday 1st May 2004
Bill & Gloria Gaither & Their Homecoming Friends - Bill Gaither Presents A Gospel Bluegrass Homecoming Vol 2
Bill & Gloria Gaither & Their Homecoming Friends - Bill Gaither Presents A Gospel Bluegrass Homecoming Vol 2

STYLE: Southern Gospel
RATING 6 6 6 6 6 6
LABEL: Gaither Music Group SHD2460
RELEASE DATE: 2003-11-07
RRP: £5.99

Reviewed by Steven Whitehead

Fast-forward to track four: “Rivers Of Babylon” featuring Jeff and Sheri Easter. Probably the nicest rendition of this old favourite that your reviewer has ever heard but it was never, is not and never shall be a bluegrass song. The next track, “I Am Going To Heaven” featuring Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver, is pure barbershop. Again it is superbly sung and, again, it just ain't bluegrass. So what do we get? Gospel favourites such as “Gospel Train” featuring Mountain Heart, hymns including “Rock Of Ages” sung by Cynthia Clawson, even country and western, notably “Rawhide”' with Ricky Skaggs, Ronnie McCoury, Doyle Lawson and Marty Stuart. All have a bluegrass twang but much of the time the definition is stretched past breaking point. If you want authentic bluegrass you will need to look elsewhere; if you enjoy Gaither gospel easy listening then you will be humming along to this on your way to the rodeo.

The opinions expressed in this article are not necessarily those held by Cross Rhythms. Any expressed views were accurate at the time of publishing but may or may not reflect the views of the individuals concerned at a later date.

Interested in reviewing music? Find out more here.

Sample Track Listing:
1. I'm Ready To Go [Listen]
2. Are You Afraid To Die [Listen]
3. Lord, Send Your Angels [Listen]
4. Rivers Of Babylon [Listen]
5. I Am Going To Heaven [Listen]
6. Another Soldier Down [Listen]
7. He Ain't Never Done Me Nothin' But Good [Listen]
8. Recovering Pharisee [Listen]
9. Rawhide [Listen]
10. Knowing You'll Be There [Listen]
11. John [Listen]
12. Gospel Train [Listen]
13. Hear The Voice Of My Beloved [Listen]
14. Rock Of Ages [Listen]
15. Rank Strangers To Me [Listen]
16. Jesus, Hold My Hand [Listen]
17. I Plan To Meet You There [Listen]
18. Lord, I'm Coming Home [Listen]
19. Clinging To A Saving Hand [Listen]
20. Workin' On A Building [Listen]
21. Tomorrow [Listen]
22. Take Me In Your Lifeboat [Listen]

This track data is supplied by the Cross Rhythms CD/DVD review library. Please note that CD tracks may vary according to release region or product version.

Product Description
One of two volumes of this title, this album, traces the history of Bluegrass Gospel from its roots in the Appalachian Mountains to the modern day with songs like 'Sunday Meeting Time' and 'Will The Circle Be Unbroken'. This outstanding collection features Bluegrass celebrities including Ricky Scaggs, Kentucky Thunder, Nitty Grity Dirt Band, Marty Raybon, Ralph Stanley & The Clinch Mountain Boys, and many more!

Be the first to comment on this article

We welcome your opinions but libellous and abusive comments are not allowed.

We are committed to protecting your privacy. By clicking 'Send comment' you consent to Cross Rhythms storing and processing your personal data. For more information about how we care for your data please see our privacy policy.


Connect with Cross Rhythms by signing up to our email mailing list

Press Forward, Now!
Cross Rhythms Media Training Centre
Artists & DJs A-Z
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
Or keyword search


Be genuine and real and incinerate your attitudes and apathy in our Prayer Room